2 and a Half

Liliana is now two and a half years old.  With my first child I would have been thankful to know the “terrible twos” were half way over, but now I’ve learned by experience that 3 is just as hard.  So, maybe I’m a quarter way through the hard testing toddler years with her?

Li Li’s lip is healing well.  We are massaging it a couple times a day at the doctor’s recommendation.  She is not fond of it.  She still has a good sized thickened area there.

Her English is coming along very well.  We meet with a speech therapist weekly and are working on several sounds : especially F, Sh, G, and putting T at the end of a word.  She talks a lot but there are still times we can’t understand her and need Koen to translate.

Li Li at 2.5:

  • Enjoys coloring (very good at beautiful oval-like scribbles)
  • Is Potty Trained! And doing a good job telling us when she needs to go.
  • Can put underwear, pants, socks and most of her shoes on by herself.
  • Wants to do everything her brother does and have everything he has (which causes lots of drama around here).
  • Is loud!  Especially when not getting her way.
  • Likes to sing – especially “Jesus love is bubbling over.”
  • Usually eats very slowly, unless it’s candy or something super yummy.
  • Knows several of her colors (orange being her favorite at this point).
  • Most common phrases: “I win!,” “Mine!,” “Nose” (commanding us to blow it as she is usually sick), “Ge Ge hit me” (Ge Ge is Koen), “Movie!” (begging for one), “No No ___!” (instead of I don’t want), “Bumpy” (meaning Grumpy), “Li Li choose!,”  “Toot!” (so proud when she lets one loose),
  • Enjoys reading books over and over.
  • Likes to scoot around on her trike (without pedals).
  • Doesn’t sleep enough (or at least that’s what her parents think).
  • Stands in her chair and in the bath despite the rules.
  • Tantrums by crying and stomping her feet and shaking her hands.
  • Likes to read a couple books in her crib before falling asleep.
  • Is usually very gentle and sweet to Luby, our kitty.
  • Is a messy eater.
  • Likes to watch the first 5-10 minutes of movies.
  • Enjoys going to church.
  • Is still very social.
  • Likes to talk in a scary deep voice and make car noises like her brother.
  • Really likes to swim and is pretty brave.
  • Will hang from anything – the counter, the bars, a tree limb…. (future gymnast here!)
  • Helps set the table and empty the dishwasher (just the silverware)

Wearing the summer dress I made her.

About kelly_e

We live in WA state and have been traveling the road of adoption since 2/07. We have a biological son who is a joy and look forward to bringing home his sister soon.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s