Update on Koen

Koen is 4 and a half now (don’t you forget that half!) and doing very well.  He loves his preschool and has a little girlfriend there, Claire.  I think they get along so well because they are both very efficient at conversing in potty talk.  They’ve had a few play dates, drawn each other pictures….  A few weeks ago Koen decided he would marry Claire someday (after finally figuring out he can’t marry his Mama).  Somehow the news got to Claire and she cried about it, sad that she would have to leave her Mom and Dad’s house if she got married.  Soon after this we had Claire over for a play date and she said “I think we should break up” to Koen.  Thankfully my little boy didn’t know what that meant and went on like she hadn’t said anything.  A little later Claire is saying that she wasn’t going to invite Koen to her birthday party – that it was just for girls and she would invite Li Li, but not Koen.  I listened to see if this would upset Koen but his response was, “Well I’m going to invite you to mine.”  I was very impressed at how he handled a little attempt at manipulation from his girlfriend – either that or he is just completely dull to female ways.  Thankfully, when Koen was sick last week, Claire was quite concerned about him.  I think their romance may survive after all.

I’ve been teaching Koen to read a little using a lesson book we have, and he is doing quite well.  He is reading simple stories that are several paragraphs long.  He can count to 30 now and is doing some simple addition and subtraction.  He’s also finally getting into music.  During quiet time he listens to his music (mostly Go Fish) on his Lightning McQueen stereo.  Sometimes I can sneak up there and find him dancing to it.

Koen drew his first family portrait last week.  He then proceeded to draw the cyclops version for Papa.

Some of us are "two-eyed cyclops"

Koen started basketball at the YMCA this month and is enjoying himself.  I have to say though that basketball is a lot more complex for 3 and 4 year olds than soccer!  We’ll see if he catches on.  He’s got the height for it!

Koen rarely gets sick.  Li Li seems to catch everything – and then I get it from her, and sometimes Keith gets it from us, but Koen usually stays healthy.  This week however, he’s been hit hard.  On Wednesday he had the flu and had to miss a perfect day: preschool, followed by a play date with Claire, followed by Cubbies at church.  Then he was better for two days, and today had a fever again.  Tonight we noticed his eyes are super pink, and Li Li’s are mucky.  I think we have our first case of pink eye.

On a more random note, I took a trapeze class with my old swim team last night.  I thought I’d just do a little swinging, but they had us hanging upside down, and even being caught by another person on a trapeze!  It was the most exhilarating thing I’ve done in a long time.  I actually got pretty good at it by the end of the class.   I had to show my kiddos the video and they were pretty impressed.  I need to figure out how to put the video on here.  You can see it on facebook.

About kelly_e

We live in WA state and have been traveling the road of adoption since 2/07. We have a biological son who is a joy and look forward to bringing home his sister soon.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

