Cambodia

My heart is really growing for Cambodia.  Love Without Boundaries, the organization that I LOVE volunteering for, began working there late last year and as I see the photos of the children and hear about the suffering, my heart has been breaking.  I’m reading books, watching documentaries, listening to books on CD, scouring websites…. to learn more about the country, it’s people and what might be done to help.

The first book I read was First They Killed My Father by Loung Ung.  It is about a young girl who lives through the Khmer Rouge of the late 70s, looses her parents and some siblings during the war, and comes out scared and hurting.  She becomes a refugee in the US.  I then read her 2nd book about adjusting to life in the US and reunifying with the rest of her family left behind in Cambodia many years later.  Now I’m in the 3rd book, about her life as an adult.  They’re making a movie for Netflix based on her life.

I’m listening to In a Rocket Made of Ice by Gail Gutradt when I get a childless chance to in the car.  It’s about Wat O Pot – a community for HIV infected children and young adults in Cambodia.  Also very good.

And, the documentaries I’ve found educational and eye-opening are Finding Home, The Storm Makers, Small Voices, and The Pink Room.  Of those my favorites were The Storm Makers (where you see several young women get sold into slavery, and one tell her story once she is free), and Small Voices (an organization that is rescuing kids from the street).  Look for these on Netflix.

I also enjoyed this family’s story.

I’m dreaming of going to Cambodia some day, but for now I’ll learn and listen to the Lord’s guidance as to how I can help the children of Cambodia.

 

About kelly_e

We live in WA state and have been traveling the road of adoption since 2/07. We have a biological son who is a joy and look forward to bringing home his sister soon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

